U.D.O. - 'SteelhammerLive In Moscow' (2CD's/DVD)


Udo Dirkschneider – vocals
Fitty Wienhold – bass, backing vocals
Francesco Jovino – drums, backing vocals
Andrey Smirnov – guitar, backing vocals
Kasperi Heikkinen – guitar, backing vocals
Uli K
öllner - keyboards, backing vocals

Disc I:
1.) "Intro"
2.) "Steelhammer" - From the CD 'Steelhammer'
3.) "King Of Mean" - From the CD 'Steelhammer'
4.) "Future Land" - From the CD 'Faceless World'
5.) "Cry Of A Nation" - From the CD 'Steelhammer'
6.) "Trip To Nowhere" - From the CD 'Faceless World'
7.) "They Want War" - From The CD 'Animal House'
8.) "Never Cross My Way" - From the CD 'Steelhammer'
9.) "Stranger" - From the CD 'Faceless World'
10.) "Stay Tune"- From the CD 'Steelhammer'
11.) "In The Darkness"- From The CD 'Animal House'
12.) "Azeril" - From the CD 'No Limits'
1.) "No Limits" - From the CD 'No Limits'
2.) "Mean Machine" - From the CD 'Mean Machine'
3.) "Burning Heat"  - From the CD 'Timebomb'
4.) "Metel Machine" - From the CD 'Steelhammer'
5.) "Devil's Bite" - From the CD 'Steelhammer'
6.) "Go Back To Hell" - From The CD 'Animal House'
7.) "Time Bomb" - From the CD 'Timebomb'
8.) "Holy" - From the CD 'Holy'
9.) "Metal Heart" - From the Accept CD 'Metal Heart'
1.) "Intro"
2.) "Steelhammer"
3.) "King Of Mean"
4.) "Future Land" -
5.) "Cry Of A Nation" 
6.) "Trip To Nowhere"
7.) "They Want War"
8.) "Never Cross My Way" -
9.) "Stranger"
10.) "Stay Tune"
11.) "In The Darkness"
12.) "Azeril"
13.) "No Limits"
14.) "Mean Machine"
15.) "Burning Heat"
16.) "Metel Machine"
17.) "Devil's Bite"
18.) "Go Back To Hell"
19.) "Time Bomb"
20.) "Holy"
21.) "Metal Heart"
Behind the Scenes/Russian Travel Documentation/Trainride in Russia

     After Udo Dirkschneider left Accept in 1987, a large fan community followed him to U.D.O.
    Starting with the first albums 'Animal House' in 1987 and 'Mean Machine' in 1988 U.D.O. proved to be pure heavy metal without any Trend-Sound influences. Both albums continued where Accept had left off in 1986 with 'Russian Roulette'. Apart from Udo, 'Animal House' was recorded by Peter Szigeti (guitars), Frank Rittel from Warlock on (bass), Mathias Dieth from Sinner and Gravestone (guitars) and Thomas Franke (drums).
    From 1987 - 1989 they toured with the following line-up: Udo Dirkschneider (vocals), Mathias Dieth (guitar), Andy Susemihl (guitar), Dieter Rubach (bass) and Thomas Franke (drums). They toured with Guns N' Roses, Lita Ford and Zodiac Mindwarp.
    By 'Mean Machine' (released in 1988) the band had a different line-up: only Udo, Mathias Dieth and Andy Susemihl remained. New additions were Thomas Smuszynski (bass) and Stefan Schwarzmann (drums).
    U.D.O. achieved success with the album Faceless World, produced by ex-Accept drummer Stefan Kaufmann. U.D.O.'s follow-up album was 'Timebomb', and it was their last for five years.
    From 1992-1996 Accept reformed their classic line up, and Dirkschneider put U.D.O. on hiatus to record three albums with his old Accept colleagues. After another break up, Dirkschneider returned to U.D.O., with Stefan Kaufmann (guitar), Jürgen Graf (guitars), Fitty Wienhold (bass) and Stefan Schwarzmann (drums). Udo Dirkschneider and Stefan Kaufmann then recorded tracks for the Tribute to Judas Priest compilation of Judas Priest cover songs, U.D.O. performing the track "Metal Gods".
     1997 saw the band return with 'Solid', the first full-length U.D.O. album to feature the guitar work of Stefan Kaufmann. 'Solid' featured on the Rock Hard magazine reader charts for more than a year after release.
    'Solid' was followed by No Limits in 1998, and featured a similar songwriting approach as the previous year's effort. The album also featured U.D.O.'s first returning lineup since the band's inception ten years prior. The album also featured a cover of the Austrian pop band Supermax's hit single "Love Machine".
    With the release of the critically acclaimed 'Holy' a return to the guitar-driven sound similar to Balls to the Wall-era Accept. A world tour followed with dates in the United States and several other major countries. Lineup changes occurred during the second part of the 1999 tour with Igor Gianola, ex of Gotthard, replacing Jürgen Graf. When the No Limits tour concluded, Schwarzmann quit the band, and on the 'Holy' tour (2000) Lorenzo Milani took his place behind the drum kit. The tour also spawned U.D.O.'s first live album, 'Live from Russia' a two-disc affair which featured many of the classic Accept tunes (with the exception of "Balls to the Wall") that have since become staples of U.D.O.'s set.
     2002's 'Man and Machine' received a somewhat lukewarm response. Despite standout songs like the title track and "Private Eye", the album was ultimately less successful than its predecessor. It is notable for spawning a promo video of "Dancing With An Angel", featuring a duet between Udo and Doro Pesch (of Warlock).
    The next two studio releases – 2004's 'Thunderball' and 2005's 'Mission No. X' – were slightly livelier affairs, with the band's touring of Germany, South America, and Eastern Europe. Sonically, the former shared much in common with Timebomb, while the latter followed 'No Limits'.
     It was with 2007's 'Mastercutor', that U.D.O. returned to form. The album was the most financially successful in years and received universally high marks from musical critics and metal fans alike. Udo's appearance on Finnish metal band Lordi's album, 'The Arockalypse', exposed U.D.O. to a wider audience. Live DVD 'Mastercutor Alive' was released in 2008.
    U.D.O.'s twelfth studio album, 'Dominator', was released on 21 August 2009. U.D.O.'s next studio album, 'Rev-Raptor' was released on 20 May 2011.
    On 12 September 2012 Stefan Kaufmann, longtime guitar player in U.D.O. has left the band for health reasons. The band has begun with the preparations for the forthcoming studio album and is looking for a guitar player with immediate effect. Stefan will continue to work in the surroundings of the band and produce bands in his own ROXX studio. Steelhammer was released on 20 May 2013.
     'Steelhammer Live In Moscow' is the fifth DVD since leaving Accept and forming U.D.O. in 1987.  The CD/DVD package contains two CD's and one DVD.  One of the first things I noticed when I looked at the setlist was the Accept hit and live UDO staple Accept song "Balls To The Wall" is not on here.  Now this may really bother some fans however, I'm the type of person that doesn't want to hear the same old songs every time I see a band.  So on that respect I was very thrilled to see the band close the show with "Metal Heart" instead of "Balls..."
    The twenty-one song setlist consisted of seven songs from U.D.O.'s latest release titled, 'Steelhammer' with the rest of the set consisting of songs mainly from the band's earlier releases.  I get so sick and tired of bands playing the same old songs using the same setlists.  That it was very refreshing to hear U.D.O. play songs I have not heard live in a very longtime. 
     For a sixty-three year old UDO's vocals are as strong today as they were the first time I heard Accept in the early eighties.  As I was watching the performance I was thinking as a drummer myself what can I say about
Francesco? Only three words came to mind and that was, A True Showman!  All the lead guitar solo work was split between Andrey and Kasperi or both.  There are a couple of songs were Andrey plays an extended intro.  You can really tell that Andrey, Kasperi, Fitty, and keyboardist Uli Köllner really love to perform and there just not playing their part to get off stage.  During the coda of 'Metal Heart' the band plays a piece of classical music.  If you do not buy this you are not into Heavy Metal plain and simple!!!!