Whitesnake - 'Made In Japan' - deluxe edition 2CD's & 1DVD




David Coverdale - vocals
Doug Aldrich - guitar & vocals
Reb Beach - guitar & vocals
Michael Devin - bass & vocals
Brian Tichy - drums & vocals
special guest:

Brian Ruedy- keyboards & vocals

SET LIST: (disc CD II)
1.) "Best Years"
2.) "Give Me All Your Love Tonight:
3.) "Love Ain't No Stranger"
4.) "Is This Love"
5.) "Steal Your Heart Away"
6.) "Forevermore"
7.) Six String Showdown (Reb & Doug guitar solo)
8.) "Love Will Set You Free"
9.) drum solo
10.) "Fool For Your Loving"
11.) "Here I Go Again"
12.) "In The Still Of The Night"

DISC III: bonus audio disc:
Made In Japan Bonus Disc" Sound Check" Versions From The 2011 Japanese Tour)
1.) "Love Will Set You Free"
2.) "Steal Your Heart Away"
3.) "Fare The Well" (
acoustic version)
4.) "One Of These Days" (acoustic version)
5.) "Lay Down You Love""
6.) "Evil Ways"
7.) "Good To BE Bad" (acoustic version)
8.) "Tell Me How" (acoustic version)

♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫ ♫♫♫♫♫♫♫REVIEW♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫ ♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫♫
DISC II: (Is The exact same as the DVD)    
     The DVD and double CD was recorded on October 15, during their headline show at the Loud Park festival at Saitama Super Arena, Tokyo, during their 2011 Forevermore World Tour.  The set list David and the guys chose contained songs from their 2011 release titled, 'Forevermore' plus all the classic Whitesnake hits as you can see from the set list above.  Plus two solo sections that included guitar and drums.  From right off one of the first things I noticed is at sixty-two David's vocals sound as great today if not better than they did when he sang for Deep Purple.  The backing mics were turned down almost to the point to were you couldn't hear them (however I kept in mind I have an old surround sound and they may sound better on a new one).  On the breakdown of "Give Me All Your Love Tonight" Brian Tichy is keeping time on his hi-hat 1&2&3&4&...etc as he is bringing his right hand up he does a stick twirl and then as he is bringing his left hand up he is doing a stick twirl.  If I didn't know any better I would have swore they speeded up the film!  I didn't really count but it seemed Doug and Reb split the lead guitar duty for each song.  The opening harmonics Doug plays on "Is This Love" just shredded the original version away!!!  Doug plays a minor lead guitar solo before the song "Steal Your Heart Away".  During "Steal Your Heart Away" Brian throws his right drumstick in the rafters then catches them.  The only other drummer I've seen do this was the legendary Rush drummer Neal Peart.  The first half of "Forevermore" the band does acoustically.  For Six String Showdown Doug plays first, then Reb, then they both do a twin solo.  Turn your bass speaker up because David found a shinning diamond in the rough with bassist Michael Devin.  His bass work is amazing.  For Brian's drum solo he first plays with his drumsticks, then with his hands, then with chopsticks, then with huge kitchen knives!!!  This may have...wait this was the best solo I've ever seen!  And after you see it you will see why he is in a huge demand!!!  The violin bow guitar solo on "In The Still Of The Night" was done by keyboardist Brian Ruedy.  I'm sure Reb or Doug are more than capable of doing this so I really don't know why they chose to use the keyboards.  I guess it doesn't really matter because it is there just the same. 
DISC III: bonus audio disc (sound check)
The audio quality of these songs are a little poor. However, it was at sound check so I expected them to be. Don't let the quality fool you though the band still sounds amazing. One of the things I liked about this disc is the fact not many people have ever had the chance to hear a sound check. I wasn't expecting their cover of "Fare The Well". The rest of the eight songs were taken off of Whitsnake's two releases titled, 'Good To Be Bad released on April 21, 2008 and 'Forevermore' released on March 9, 2011. In between the songs you can hear David and the other members talking. Now this would have made great bonus content on the DVD! Now is this CD something you're going to pop in and rotate often? No. However for those people that has never heard a sound check it is very interesting to listen to. And a great addition to this release.

     Every Hard Rock and/or Metal fan must by the deluxe edition of 'Made In Japan'.