Jorn - ‘Live In Black’



Jorn Lande: Vocals
Tore Moren: Guitar
Tor Erik Myhre: Guitar
Nic Angileri: Bass
Willy Bendiksen: Drums

Disc I:
1.) “Road Of The Cross”
2.) “ Shadow People”
3.) “ Below”
4.) “ We Brought The Angels Down”
5.) “ Stormcrow”
6.) “ Spirit Black”
7.) “ The Inner Road”
8.) “ Man Of The Dark”
Disc II:
9.) “ Blacksong”
Guitar Solo - Tore Moren
10.) “ Tungur Knivur”
Guitar Solo - Tor Erik Myhre
11.) “ Rock And Roll Angel”
Drum Solo
12.) “ Soul Of The Wind”
13.) “ Are You Ready”
14.) “ War Of The World”

     Jørn Lande (born May 31, 1968) is a Norwegian hard rock and heavy metal singer who has sold over 2 million records worldwide. He is probably best known for being the lead singer of the power metal band Masterplan.
     Jørn Lande has performed with bands such as Vagabond (with Ronni Le Tekrø and Morty Black from TNT), Yngwie Malmsteen, Ark, Beyond Twilight, Mundanus Imperium, Nikolo Kotzev's Nostradamus, Millenium, Ken Hensley and The Snakes as well as his own self-titled solo effort. He also sang lead vocals on the Norwegian national football team's song for the 1994 World Cup, "Alt for Norge" (All for Norway).
      In 2001 Jørn joined the global metal scene fronting Masterplan, with whom he released two albums. On May 11, 2006, Jørn Lande left Masterplan because of creative differences. Jørn wanted to take the band towards a more melodic style, while the other members were leaning towards a heavier sound. In 2005, Jørn teamed up with Symphony X vocalist Russell Allen in a singer-duet collaboration on the album The Battle, and their following album, The Revenge, released May 11, 2007. The project is commonly called Allen-Lande and was put together by the president of Frontiers Records, with songwriting duties and most of the instrumentation done by Swedish guitarist Magnus Karlsson.
      Jørn's first live album, Live in America, was released September 21, 2007, containing 2 discs with tracks taken from his performance on September 16, 2006, at the rock festival ProgPower VII in Atlanta, Georgia.
      In 2008, Jørn Lande lent his voice to the rock opera bands Ayreon on the album 01011001 and Avantasia on the album The Scarecrow, both released in January 2008. He was also one of the main guests in the first Avantasia's world tour. Later, he was featured on over 10 songs on Avantasia's two subsequent albums, The Wicked Symphony and Angel of Babylon and once again took part in the world tour in December 2010.
     Jørn released two more full-length albums with his own band, Lonely Are The Brave in 2008, which was the fastest selling album of his career, and Spirit Black, right one year after.
     On July 25, 2009, Masterplan announced that Jørn was back in the band.  Masterplan's 3rd album with Jørn Lande is titled Time to Be King and was released on May 21, 2010.
     In late May, a JORN music video honoring legendary heavy metal singer Ronnie James Dio, who had died of stomach cancer just five days before, was posted on YouTube. Soon after it was announced that Jørn would release a Dio tribute album in July. Later on, it was announced that Jørn was included in the line-up of Heaven & Hell, when the remaining members played the one off tribute to Ronnie James Dio at the 2010 High Voltage festival. He was one of the vocalists together with Glenn Hughes.
     The third Allen/Lande album titled ‘The Showdown’ has been announced for release in September 2010. To promote the album, Frontiers Records posted a promo trailer featuring Jørn singing a portion of the title track via YouTube.

     ‘Live In Black’ CD/DVD is the second live CD/DVD J
ørn has released since forming the band in 2000.  The first was released in 2007 and titled, ‘Live In America’.  The concert was filmed in 2010 at the legendary SWEDEN ROCK FESTIVAL while on tour for ‘Spirit Black’.  The DVD was filmed in both 2.0 stereo and 5.1 surround sound.  Outside of the concert itself the only bonus features are two videos titled, “Song For Ronnie” and “Man Of The Dark”.  With a setlist that includes sixteen original songs that covers the ten-year history of the band plus “Are You Ready” a cover song originally recorded by Thin Lizzy.  The concert footage includes a lead guitar solo by both Tore Moren and Tor Erik Myhre plus a drum solo by Willy Bendiksen.  I do not know how many concerts I have reviewed over the years where I have said solos are a waste of concert time.  Though I still would have liked to hear more songs, the solos are important because of Frontiers distributing their releases here in the United States now gives the musicians more exposure.  Not long before Ronnie & Wendy announced to the world Ronnie had cancer.  Jørn Lande with the rest of the members with the blessing of Ronnie and Wendy, Jørn recorded ‘Dio’ (a tribute CD to Ronnie).  When I reviewed ‘Dio’ I didn’t notice or even realize how much Jørn sounded like Dio.  There are times when listening to ‘Live In Black’ that Jørn sounds so much like Dio even the most die-hard Dio fan would have a hard time telling the difference.  There is a look and feel when a band is performing live and they know they are in the pocket.  Jørn’s music is classified as progressive metal/heavy metal.  However, do not and I repeat do not let the fact that Jørn’s music is progressive turn you away.  Jørn Lande is an amazing vocalist backed-up by an amazingly great band.  If you are a metal fan then both CD & DVD’s are a must have!