Ian Hunter Band feat. Mick Ronson – ‘Live At Rockpalast’



Video Format

Picture Format


Running Time





Approx. 74 min

0  (no region)

Ian Hunter – vocals, guitar
Mick Ronson – guitar, vocals
Tom Morrongiello – guitar
Martian Briley- bass
George Meyer – keyboards, Sax
Tom mandel – keyboards
Eric Parker – drums

1.) “FBI”
2.) “Once Bitten Twice Shy”
3.) “Angeline”
4.) “Laugh at Me”
5.) “Irene Wilde”
6.) “I Wish I Was Your”
7.) “We Gotta Get Out Of Here”
8.) “Bastard”
9.) “All The Way From Memphis”
10.) “Cleveland Rocks”
11.) “All The Young Dudes”
12.) “Slaughter On 10th Avenue”


     Born on June 3, 1939, Ian Hunter Patterson is an English singer-songwriter best known by his stage name Ian Hunter.  Ian formed the English rock group Mott The Hoople in 1969 to its dissolution in 1974.  Among his best-known solo records are "Once Bitten, Twice Shy" (later covered by Great White) and "Cleveland Rocks," made famous from a cover version on the American TV series The Drew Carey Show.     In March 1975 Hunter joined forces with Mick Ronson; during his solo career, Hunter most frequently worked with Ronson until the latter's death in 1993. Hunter's first single from his eponymous solo album was the UK Top 40 hit "Once Bitten Twice Shy". Hunter and Ronson then parted professionally (reportedly due to Hunter's refusal to have to deal with Ronson's manager at the time, Tony DeFries). Hunter's second solo album, All American Alien Boy, was a more soul-infused work, featuring saxophonist David Sanborn, bassist Jaco Pastorius, and, on one track, Queen (one-time opening act for Mott the Hoople) on backing vocals. With his next album Overnight Angels (produced by Roy Thomas Baker and featuring former Bowie sideman Earl Slick on lead guitar), Hunter opted for a heavier guitar sound. Hunter's record label in America, Columbia Records, refused to release the album in the US. According to Ian Hunter, this was due not so much to dissatisfaction on Columbia's part towards the record, but to issues concerning Hunter's management at the time: "Overnight Angels was not released in the US because I fired my manager, Fred Heller, during the English promotional tour – just before it was to be released in America. Columbia said they didn't want to release it until I had new management and that dragged on until it became too late."     Mick Ronson returned as producer and guitarist on Hunter's 1979 album ‘You're Never Alone with a Schizophrenic’, which also featured several members from Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band as well as John Cale. Two songs from Schizophrenic became successes for other artists: in late 1979, "Ships" was covered by Barry Manilow and became a top ten US hit, and in 1997, "Cleveland Rocks" was covered by the Presidents of the United States of America (whose version was used as the theme song for The Drew Carey Show). "Cleveland Rocks" is arguably Hunter's most enduring solo song; it is seen as a de facto anthem in Cleveland, Ohio (sometimes used as a victory song for the city's sports teams) and Hunter was given the key to the city by Cleveland mayor Dennis Kucinich on 19 June 1979.      The bestselling status of Schizophrenic led to Hunter's record label at the time, Chrysalis Records, commissioning the release of a double album, ‘Welcome to the Club’ (1980). Primarily a live album, it also features some original studio material. Hunter toured briefly with Todd Rundgren on guitar in 1980, playing eleven shows on the East Coast. His first studio album of the 1980s was ‘Short Back 'n' Sides’ (1981), produced in collaboration with Mick Jones (of The Clash) and Mick Ronson. Ronson's input on Hunter's next album, ‘All of the Good Ones Are Taken’ (1983), was restricted to his playing guitar on only one track. The title track was a minor hit in the US after MTV put the song's video into what they called at the time 'heavy rotation', playing it over and over, every few hours. In the same year, Ronson travelled to Canada to produce a third album, Hammer on a Drum, for the Payolas (often written as 'The Payola$'). Hunter provided backing vocals on one of the tracks and Ronson contributed keyboards and vocals.

      Featured on the German show ‘Rockpalast’ live at Grugahalle, Essen, Germany on April 19th and 20th 1980.  Rockpalast (Rock Palace) is a German music television show that broadcasts live on German television station Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR). Rockpalast started in 1974 and continues to this day. Hundreds of rock and jazz bands have performed on Rockpalast. Some acts were recorded for broadcast throughout Europe and for retail sale. All-night marathon shows called "rocknights" were produced once or twice a year from 1977 through 2009.  Rockpalast is involved in several German rock and underground music festivals, once sponsoring the Bizarre Festival.  The founder and long-time producer of Rockpalast is Peter Rüchel.
Running at approximately 74 minutes the guys perform 12 songs which included songs from Mott The Hoople.  The audio is in PCM format (PCM represents analog signals in digital format. PCM is the standard for the audio in computers and is used in the audio CD format, too. The audio CD format is referred to as "red-book" and is owned by Royal Philips Electronics, Inc., known simply as Philips, and must be licensed from them in order to be used. Quantized into numeric code, typically binary, PCM begins as analog signals sampled for magnitude and then converted.)  The DVD is in region 0 which is OK for all DVD players in every country which is a huge plus!
     I am not too familiar with Mott The Hoople or Ian Hunter however, I know enough to say he performs his biggest hits.  If you’re a fan of Ian Hunter then you will want this and should buy it!