The Who - 'Live At The Isle Of Wight Festival 1970' DVD
                                                                                                                                         Released through Eagle Vision Entertainment in 2004
Roger Daltrey - vocals, harmonica
John Entwistle - bass, vocals
Keith Moon - drums, vocals
Pete Townshend - guitar, vocals

Set List:
1.) "Heaven and Hell"
2.) "I Can't Explain"
3.) "Young Man Blues"
4.) "I Don't Even Know Myself"
5.) "Water"
6.) "Shakin' All Over"/"Spoonful"/"twist And Shout"
7.) "Summertime Blues"
8.) "My Generation"
9.) "Magic Bus"
    from Tommy
1.) "Overture"
2.) "It's A Boy"
3.) "Eyesight To The Blind"
4.) "Christmas"
5.) "The Acid Queen"
6.) "Pinball Wizard"
7.) "Do You Think It's Alright?"
8.) "Fiddle About"
9.) "Go To The Mirror"
10.) "Miracle Cure"
11.) "I'm Free"
12.) "We're Not Gonna Take It"
13.) "See Me Feel Me"/"Listen To You"
14.) "Tommy Can You Hear Me?"

    The Who originally called The Detours was a band started by guitarist Roger Daltrey in the summer of 1961.  Roger enlisted a local bassist by the name of John Entwistle who had played in several local bands based around their mutual school Acton County Grammar.  On John's suggestion of adding a second guitarist, Roger asked Pete Townsend a friend and former band member of John's to also join the band.  At that time The Detours also included, vocalist Colin Dawson and drummer Doug Sandom.  Just a couple short years after the band was formed Colin left the band and guitarist Roger Daltrey took over as lead singer.  In early 1964, after finding out that a rival band was using the same name, a friend of Pete's suggested the guys change the bands' name to The Who.  While performing in a local pub on night, a young man dressed all in ginger-colored clothing with matching dyed hair to match stated to the band, "I can play better than that chap".  After smashing one of the foot pedals on the drum kit, the band quickly asked him to join the band.  With Keith Moon on drums The Who where now complete. 
    The 1970 Isle of Wight Festival was the United Kingdom's answer to the American Woodstock concert the year before.  From Wednesday August 26th to Sunday August 30th the Isle of Wight festival would break United Kingdom attendance records with 600,00 people attending the performance.  During this five day festival bands such as; Kris Kristofferson, Supertramp, Procol Harum, Cactus, Joni Mitchell, Tiny Tim, Miles Davis, Ten Years After, Emerson Lake and Palmer, and The Doors, performed. 
    The DVD includes the entire Who performance along with a brand new interview with Pete Townsend.  During the song "I Don't Even Know Myself" after each chorus section the band break the structure of the song down to an almost country music feel by Keith Moon playing a simple rhythm on the rims of his toms.  Over the years I've seen several Who performances and never really paid that much attention but Keith Moon does not use a hi-hat instead he uses his cymbal crashes.  This is one of the main reasons why it is so difficult to copy Keith's drum sound to a tee.  There is only one time during the performance where the band is what you could say off and that was during the song "My Generation".  The bass line was just a little out of sync with the guitar arrangement.  You can't expect a band to be dead on every time they perform.  This is one of the few times where The Who performed 'Tommy' almost in it's entirety.  I was very pleased that the guys choose to do this that night.  'Tommy' still to this day is one of the coolest structured albums I've ever heard. 
    This DVD is an absolute must have for any Who fans out there.